My Year of Mindfulness

20170722_224045Today I turn 27. The halfway point between 25 and 30. And I’m excited! For once I’m not worried about the whole “getting old” thing. (Now ask me when I’m 29 turning 30 and it might be a different story). But In my current life state, I’m excited about what this next year has in store.

I haven’t always been this chill about “getting old”. I remember when I was 22 and 23, I would freak out about being close to 25 and would always say “I’m so old!!” and I would worry that I haven’t done enough things in my twenties and if I don’t do x,y, and z by the time I’m 25 then I’ve basically wasted my life away.

Somewhere along the way as I’ve matured (I’d at least like to think I’m more mature than I was at 22) my mindset changed. Two years ago I joined a group called Real Life Book Club, which despite the name, is so much more than a book club, though we did read some awesome personal development books. I learned about what it means to love myself for exactly where I am and how to stay curious about my life and accept things about myself that I couldn’t change. I did so much growing as a person and I surrounded myself with women who supported me and held me accountable and taught me so much about myself.

IMG_20170904_122422_285Earlier this year I started a 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training program. This has turned into another unexpected opportunity for personal growth. Yoga challenges me both physically and mentally. Over the past 6 months of teacher training, I have learned new ways of looking at the twists and turns life throws at me. By digging into old, yogic philosophy I have been given a whole new viewpoint on what it means to be a human on this earth, in this life. I feel like I have gotten a peek at who my true self is, buried deep inside and I don’t want to lose her again. She deserves to shine and find her place in this world.

The past couple of years have changed the way I looked at so many different aspects of my life and it has changed how I have shaped my adulthood – the people I surround myself with, the way I treat myself and others, the very way I want to live my life. This doesn’t mean life is always sunshine and roses and it definitely doesn’t mean I don’t fall back to old habits and mindsets. Living a joyful and authentic life takes a little work every day.

quoteA few months ago I found a quote that said “Honor the space between no longer and not yet”. This has really stuck with me ever since I read it. Growth and change aren’t always easy to maneuver. And sometimes it’s really hard to let go of the way things used to be or how you expected things to be. Especially when you don’t know what the future will bring. The fear of uncertainty can dictate the present moment and make it so that all you focus on is what isn’t here yet. But the space between these two things is where you are right now, in this moment. This space in between is your life.

So going into year 27 of my life, I’ve decided to give myself a new challenge. I’m calling this year: My Year of Mindfulness. Throughout this next year, I will tackle different aspects of my life and approach them in a mindful and curious way. These aspects range from physical aspects to mental aspects to emotional aspects – the whole shebang. I want to turn my life upside down and really figure out what helps me live my own, authentic life. I want to experiment with different ways of thinking and speaking my truth. I want to learn even more about myself, about how I think, about what motivates me, about what outside factors have a positive or negative effect on me. I want to take these things and then learn how to live a joyful life. I want to learn what makes me truly happy and how to let go of the things that I don’t need and aren’t serving me anymore.

As a way to document this year and to try something new, I have started this blog! Go big or go home, right? I know the best way for me to stick with something for the whole year is to have a game plan, so I’ve mapped out this “Year of Mindfulness” with a list of 26 things to focus on throughout the year. With each of the 26 things I’ve jotted down some resources and experiment ideas to try out. I will dedicate 2 weeks to each thing on the list. I plan on journaling throughout the year and using the journal to dig a bit deeper when I feel like I’m stuck. Then I’ll post here throughout each of the two week periods and document what I’ve learned. I think this is the best way for me to really notate a change and keep myself accountable.

So bring it on 27! I’m so excited and ready to dive in and float around in this new adventure in mindfulness…this inspired adventure. This beautiful and messy adventure called life.20170802_201010.jpg

Leave a Reply

